The New Leaf (for a New Year)

There have been several searches of this blog in recent days looking for the poem below. I think it is worth bringing it forward from January 4, 2009.

The New Leaf

He came to my desk with quivering lip –
The lesson was done.
“Dear Teacher. I want a new leaf he said,
“I have spoiled this one.”
I took the old leaf, stained and blotted
And gave him a new one, all unspotted,
And into his sad eyes smiled;
“Do better now, my child!”

I went to the Throne with a quivering soul –
The old year was gone.
“Dear Father, hast Thou a new leaf for me?”
“I have spoiled this one.”
He took the old leaf, stained and blotted
And into my sad heart smiled:
“Do better now, my child!”

This poem has been among my sermon notes for many years. It is one of those numerous good illustrations that have come down to us from Anonymous or Author Unknown.

In Budapest, Hungary, near the entrance of Vajdahunyad Castle, there stands a statue of Anonymous by Miklos Legeti. The statue commemorates a 12th or 13th century unknown chronicler of one of the several rulers named King Bela.

Statue of Anonymous in Budapest. Photo by Ferrell Jenkins.

Statue of Anonymous in Budapest. Photo by Ferrell Jenkins.

Note. Don’t use this as an excuse for using other people’s material without attribution.

Leave a Reply

