Half a millionaire!

Compared with many websites and blogs, reaching the 500,000 hits level, as we did a few minutes ago, is not much. However, for a blog by an obscure writer dealing with the narrow topic of the Bible lands this might be impressive.

During our first month online (May, 2007) we averaged about 81 hits a day. The blog was intended to provide an opportunity for friends of those traveling with me on a tour of Anatolian Turkey and the area of Paul’s first journey to keep in touch. I think there was no thought of continuing the blog on a regular basis.

When we discovered that there was continuing interest in the photographs and bits of information we provided, we continued to write. The growth of readership was gradual. This month we are averaging about 885 hits a day. At the annual professional meetings of the NEAS, ETS, and SBL several people who saw my name badge mentioned reading the blog.

We always have in mind those who preach and teach the Bible as we prepare our material.

Thank you for your interest in this material and for your kind words of encouragement from time to time. I must confess that some days I give thought to discontinuing the blog. Except for the evidence that some of the readers are finding this material helpful I probably would.

I am grateful to others who have called attention to my blog through their links and honorable mentions. Every time Todd Bolen mentions my posts at Bible Places Blog I note an uptick in hits. I continue to be thankful for WordPress and the platform provided to anyone who wishes to post their thoughts/materials on the Internet.

Just had a thought. What if I had a dollar for each hit? It was just a thought.

For this special occasion I wanted to share a nice photo of the site of Paneas /Banias/Caesarea Philippi. This photo shows the site of the Pan shrine at the foot of the vast rock which is part of the the foothills of Mount Hermon. A spring flows from beneath the rock to form the Banias River which in turn joins other branches to form the Jordan River. Click on the photo to get an image suitable for use in sermon and class presentation.

The site of Paneas was Caesarea Philippi in the time of Jesus. Photo by Ferrell Jenkins.

The site of Paneas was Caesarea Philippi in the time of Jesus. Photo by Ferrell Jenkins.

Here is the Bible text that goes with the photo.

13 Now when Jesus came into the district of Caesarea Philippi, He was asking His disciples, “Who do people say that the Son of Man is?”
14 And they said, “Some say John the Baptist; and others, Elijah; but still others, Jeremiah, or one of the prophets.”
15 He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?”
16 Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”
17 And Jesus said to him, “Blessed are you, Simon Barjona, because flesh and blood did not reveal this to you, but My Father who is in heaven.
18 “I also say to you that you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build My church; and the gates of Hades will not overpower it.
19 “I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; and whatever you bind on earth shall have been bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth shall have been loosed in heaven.” (Matthew 16:13-19 NAU)

7 responses to “Half a millionaire!

  1. Pingback: Aantekeningen bij de Bijbel · Ferrell Jenkins een halve miljonair

  2. Pingback: Another Milestone — One Million Hits | Ferrell's Travel Blog

  3. Pingback: Banias — easternmost source of the River Jordan | Ferrell's Travel Blog

  4. Ferrell – congratulations! Keep up all of the great work with the informative posts and beautiful photos!

  5. Very impressive. I started my blog in 2008 and am getting about 100 page views a day and have reached a total of almost 37,000 page views. You must be doing something right! Any tips to share??
    I’m a tour guide in Israel. In preparation for a FREE tour of Herodium that I led in honor/memory of Ehud Netzer ז”ל I got to thinking again about what Netzer called the Monumental building. A number of tourists/clients had asked me about the channels cut into the pilasters between the niches of the building. What were they for? So I went back and reread some of Netzer’s material and learned that he proposed that the building may have been used as a nymphaeum. I did some more research on the Internet and have posted the results to my blog http://israeltours.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/nymphaeum-herodium/
    Thought you might be interested.
    Blessings from Jerusalem,
    Shmuel

  6. Congratulations, up to be a millionaire!

  7. Congratulations on reaching this impressive milestone! Many have profited from your careful research of the biblical world, and your posting of your photos and info.–Leon Mauldin

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.