The tabernacle in the wilderness

A full size model of the Israelite tabernacle has been constructed in Timna Park, 17 miles north of Eilat. This was one of the big reasons I wanted to visit Eilat on this trip. The tabernacle was built while the Israelites were at Mount Sinai (Exodus 25-40). The tabernacle was a movable tent of worship which was taken each place Israel wandered during the forty years in the wilderness. Stephen spoke of the tabernacle this way:

“Our fathers had the tabernacle of testimony in the wilderness, just as He who spoke to Moses directed him to make it according to the pattern which he had seen. (Acts 7:44)

I walked up hill above the tabernacle model and took this view of the tabernacle with the laver and the altar of burnt offering in the courtyard.

The tabernacle in the wilderness. Photo by Ferrell Jenkins.

The tabernacle in the wilderness. Photo by Ferrell Jenkins.

If you are ever near Eilat, drop by and see this wonderful model.

11 responses to “The tabernacle in the wilderness

  1. Pingback: Almond staff in the ark of the covenant « Ferrell’s Travel Blog

  2. Pingback: Almond staff in the ark of the covenant | iMaruti.com

  3. This is fantastic. I love the tabernacle and all the Christological imagery it contained!
    May I use your photo if I teach a lesson on the Tabernacle for our children’s mid-week ministry some day?

  4. subscribing to comments so I can get your response.

  5. Paul/Jen
    You are welcome to use the image. I have uploaded a better image suitable for use in PowerPoint here: http://bibleworld.com/travel-blog/tabernacle_fjenkins_082708_953sm-c.jpg

    I only ask that you leave the copyright notice.

    Ferrell

  6. Pingback: 2010 in review — according to WordPress | Ferrell's Travel Blog

  7. Pingback: Seth ~ Exodus 25-28 « group365

  8. Thanks for posting this great pic. As I read again the texts regarding all the detail of the tabernacle, it is a great blessing to be able to go online and find a picture like this. I can’t help but imagine what happened upon completion and when the Presence of the Lord came upon His tabernacle. Must have been incredible! Thanks again for sharing this pic.

  9. I am so glad I came across this post! I am a Jewish Believer, facilitating a Disciple II class at our local Methodist church. We will be discussing Exodus and the Tabernacle in class tonight. Your photo and blog entry will be a handy reinforcement!

  10. I am delighted that you found the material helpful.

  11. I have been studying the tabernacle all my life. I am putting my thoughts on it in a book. May I please use your photo? I will keep the copyright with your name on it.
    Sarah More

Leave a Reply

