Father’s Day

According to the entry in Wikipedia, Father’s Day was first celebrated in the United Stated in 1908.

In the United States, the first modern Father’s Day celebration was held on July 5, 1908, in Fairmont, West Virginia or on June 19th of the same year, in the state of Washington. Today, Father’s Day is celebrated on the 3rd Sunday of June.

My father was a good man who sought to do the best for his wife and son, his family and the church. He was a faithful Christian who sought to serve the Lord Jesus Christ, as I account him. I am not sure of my earliest memory of my dad, but I am confident that those very early years were important ones. A few years ago one of my cousins sent me some photos she found among her mother’s belonging. Her mother was my father’s sister who became an icon in Huntsville, Alabama, with her Aunt Eunice’s Country Kitchen. If you don’t know about this, just put “Aunt Eunice” in your Google search engine and take a look.

Anyway, this small collection of photos included the earliest photo I have of my father. I was one year old; he was about 23 or 24. This scene shows the back porch of our little frame house, the wood pile, and some clothes hanging on the line. In those years there was no Internet, no telephones, no running water, and no central heating. We would have none of these things until I was about 10 years of age. Yet, I had a good childhood and a firm foundation for future life. My father worked as a farmer, a carpenter, ran a small produce (fruits and vegetable) company, did some hauling, and ran a small grocery. His life was cut too short at the age of 65. I think about him almost every day.

While sharing old family photos I thought I would share one that includes both my mother and my father. This photo was probably made about 1954 in their small neighborhood grocery. Mother is nearing 95 now, but she has not known me for the past few years. My Father never was able to travel with me to the Bible Lands, but Mother was able to join me twice.

I trust that every reader will take heed to the instruction of the Apostle Paul to the saints at Ephesus:

“Honor your father and mother” (this is the first commandment with a promise). Ephesians 6:1 ESV

One response to “Father’s Day

  1. You look just like your mother!

Leave a Reply

