Maps and Geography in Biblical Studies

Some time back I wrote about Selecting a Bible Atlas here.

I keep a link to Tyndale Tech (Electronic Resources for Biblical Studies) at Biblical Studies Info Page (under Scholarly, then Blogs). David Instone-Brewer surveys various sources for maps here, including making your own. Later I will try to write about BibleMapper. I have downloaded it and it really looks great.

Not everyone has the opportunity to visit Bible Lands and make good photographs for use in teaching, but there are many sources for photos.

These statement by Instone-Brewer really impressed me:

There is now no excuse to teach or preach without pictures and maps.

Hint. If you aren’t using many pictures, wait till the latter half of your teaching, and then wake them up with a map and some photos.

One response to “Maps and Geography in Biblical Studies

  1. You’ve mentioned my bibleandtech.blogspot.com site before for the mapping resources, but I’ve updated everything and compiled a comprehensive listing here: http://www.scrollandscreen.com/biblicalmapping
    Also note that with the blessing of David Barrett, the creator of BibleMapper, I have organized a BibleMapper Wiki at: biblemapper.pbwiki.com.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.